School Governors

Welcome to the section of the website where you can find out more about the school’s governors, and the work that we do.

Our main role is to support the Headteacher and the staff – the phrase often used to describe this role is ‘a critical friend’. We help them to set and reach targets and to strive for excellence across the whole spectrum of school life. The two key documents used for this are the School Development Plan (SDP) and the Self Evaluation Form (SEF). The SDP sets out a three year strategic plan for the school, with targets that everyone works towards and the SEF sets out how well the school is doing and where we aim to make improvements.


Our legal duties include:-

  • setting strategic direction, policies and objectives

  • approving the school budget

  • reviewing progress against the school's budget and objectives

  • appointing, challenging and supporting the headteacher

The Governing Body meets at least once every (new) term. We sometimes set up committees or working groups to look at particular issues (such as pay, performance management, buildings development). A small group (Headteacher, Governor responsible for Finance and the School Budget Officer) meet more regularly to keep an eye on school finances between our termly governor meetings. All governors are informed about what happens at these monthly finance meetings.


There are several categories of governor, appointed by different groups that have an interest in the school. These are Community Governors, the Local Authority (“LA”), Parents, and Staff. All governors have equal status, however they are appointed and do not “represent” the views of these groups.

Maureen Howarth is also a Governor at St Gabriels Church of England Primary School, Middleton.

Maureen Howarth is our school representative on the Governor Forum. She also Chairs the Governor Forum In Rochdale

Boarshaw Primary does not have any associate Governors.


We are committed to providing an excellent environment for all pupils to enjoy during their time at our school.

The DCSF Governor’s Guide to the Law, outlines governors’ responsibilities in detail.


The Governing Board currently consist of:

Chair of Governors our Parent Governor - Lisa Vitler

Vice Chair of Governors is our Parent Governor - Rebekah Sharman

Co-opted Governor - Laura Windsor

Staff Governor - Sadia Riaz

Parent Governor - Katie Bartle

Co-opted Governor - Dave Willis

Associate Governor - Carolyn Palyfreman 

Jackie Harland (Headteacher)

Here is all the key information about the Governing Body at our school for 2018-2019. 


If you wish to know more, or are interested in becoming a governor, please contact us care of the School Office or email us at . Our Governing Body meetings are usually held in the evening. We attend training sessions and seminars to help us keep up to date with changes in schools and education and to help us do our job effectively. We also go into school to meet with the Headteacher, other members of staff and pupils to help us find out how the school is progressing towards its targets. We currently have 3 vacancies within our Governing Body, please contact  the school office for further information. 

© Copyright 2015–2019 Boarshaw Primary School